Sub Header

But flee from these things, you man of God, and pursue righteousness,

godliness, faith, love, perseverance and gentleness. ~ 1 Timothy 6:11

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Holy Days of Obligation

Here is a list of the 6 Holy Days of Obligation in the dioceses of the Unites States (in addition to Sundays):
  1. The Solemnity of Mary
  2. The Ascension of Christ
  3. The Assumption of the Blessed Mother
  4. All Saints' Day
  5. The Immaculate Conception of Mary
  6. Christmas

Keep Pursuing

Additional Resources

On Holy Days of Obligation, the faithful are required to attend mass.
The precept of the Church specifies the law of the Lord more precisely: "On Sundays and other holy days of obligation the faithful are bound to participate in the Mass." "The precept of participating in the Mass is satisfied by assistance at a Mass which is celebrated anywhere in a Catholic rite either on the holy day or on the evening of the preceding day." ~ CCC 2180

Monday, October 15, 2012

The Hail Holy Queen

This is how you pray the Hail Holy Queen prayer:
Hail, holy Queen, Mother of Mercy!
Our life, our sweetness, and our hope!
To thee do we cry, poor banished children of Eve,
to thee do we send up our sighs,
mourning and weeping in this valley of tears.
Turn, then, most gracious advocate,
thine eyes of mercy toward us;
and after this our exile,
show unto us the blessed fruit of thy womb Jesus;
O clement, O loving, O sweet virgin Mary.

Keep Pursuing

Monday, October 1, 2012

The Precepts of the Church

Here is the list of the 6 precepts of the Church:
  1. You shall attend Mass on Sundays and holy days of obligation. 
  2. You shall confess your sins at least once a year. 
  3. You shall humbly receive your Creator in Holy Communion at least during the Easter season. 
  4. You shall keep holy the holy days of obligation. 
  5. You shall observe the prescribed days of fasting and abstinence.
  6. And it is your duty to provide for the material needs of the Church, according to your abilities.

Keep Pursuing

Additional Resources

The Precepts of the Catholic Church are like a list of the bare minimum that is required of a practicing member of the Church.  The Church describes them as:
"The precepts of the Church are set in the context of a moral life bound to and nourished by liturgical life. the obligatory character of these positive laws decreed by the pastoral authorities is meant to guarantee to the faithful the indispensable minimum in the spirit of prayer and moral effort, in the growth in love of God and neighbor:" ~ CCC 2041

Again it must be emphasized that these represent the lowest rung, the absolute minimum that is required of all Catholics.  I must admit I haven't always measured up these.  It's pretty humbling.  How do you measure up?

If you don't quite have it yet, make this your goal.  It is a great starting place from which your spiritual life can begin to blossom.

From there, the next step is to ask yourself, if you truly love someone are you really going to be trying to "nickel and dime" them to get away with as little involvement as possible?  NO!  You will grow in love and want to do more.  Keep pushing, keep growing, keep learning, and keep loving.

The Glory Be

The Glory Be is a prayer worshiping God in His three persons of Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

It goes:
Glory be to the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit,
As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. 

Keep Pursuing

The 10 Commandments

Here is a list of the 10 Commandments:
  1. I am the LORD your God: you shall not have strange Gods before me
  2. You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain
  3. Remember to keep holy the LORD's day
  4. Honor your father and your mother.
  5. You shall not kill
  6. You shall not commit adultery
  7. You shall not steal
  8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor
  9. You shall not covet your neighbor's wife
  10. You shall not covet your neighbor's goods

Keep Pursuing

Additional Resources

The 10 Commandments are covered twice in the Bible.  Once in Exodus 20:2-17 and again in Deuteronomy 5:6-21.

You can also find the 10 Commandments in the traditional catechetical formula of the Catholic Church here: The 10 Commandments