Sub Header

But flee from these things, you man of God, and pursue righteousness,

godliness, faith, love, perseverance and gentleness. ~ 1 Timothy 6:11

Monday, October 1, 2012

The Precepts of the Church

Here is the list of the 6 precepts of the Church:
  1. You shall attend Mass on Sundays and holy days of obligation. 
  2. You shall confess your sins at least once a year. 
  3. You shall humbly receive your Creator in Holy Communion at least during the Easter season. 
  4. You shall keep holy the holy days of obligation. 
  5. You shall observe the prescribed days of fasting and abstinence.
  6. And it is your duty to provide for the material needs of the Church, according to your abilities.

Keep Pursuing

Additional Resources

The Precepts of the Catholic Church are like a list of the bare minimum that is required of a practicing member of the Church.  The Church describes them as:
"The precepts of the Church are set in the context of a moral life bound to and nourished by liturgical life. the obligatory character of these positive laws decreed by the pastoral authorities is meant to guarantee to the faithful the indispensable minimum in the spirit of prayer and moral effort, in the growth in love of God and neighbor:" ~ CCC 2041

Again it must be emphasized that these represent the lowest rung, the absolute minimum that is required of all Catholics.  I must admit I haven't always measured up these.  It's pretty humbling.  How do you measure up?

If you don't quite have it yet, make this your goal.  It is a great starting place from which your spiritual life can begin to blossom.

From there, the next step is to ask yourself, if you truly love someone are you really going to be trying to "nickel and dime" them to get away with as little involvement as possible?  NO!  You will grow in love and want to do more.  Keep pushing, keep growing, keep learning, and keep loving.

No comments:

Post a Comment